Uhuru unveils his Cabinet lineup

 President Uhuru Kenyatta (left) and Deputy President William Ruto address the press at State House, Nairobi, on 24 April 2013.   Photo | Billy Mutai
President Uhuru Kenyatta (left) and Deputy President William Ruto address the press at State House, Nairobi, on 24 April 2013. Photo | Billy Mutai  

President Uhuru Kenyatta has named 12 more of his cabinet nominees, including two politicians Najib Balala and Charity Ngilu, who both vied and lost in their bid for Senatorial positions in the March poll.

Mr Balala is the Cabinet secretary nominee for the Mining ministry while Ms Ngilu was nominated for Lands, Housing and Urban Development docket.

"Our two colleagues (Balala and Ngilu) who stood with us during campaigns are not politicians and we have agreed with them that they will resign from all political positions and they will not involve themselves in politics," said President Kenyatta on their inclusion in the Cabinet nominees lineup.

President Kenyatta also announced Amb. Raychelle Awuor Omamo as the Cabinet Secretary nominee for Defence. She has represented the country as ambassador in France, is a senior counsel and has been an advocate of High Court for 27 years and was the first female chairman of Law Society of Kenya (LSK).

Felix Kiptarus Kosgey, who is trained in implementing Public, Private partnerships was nominated Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries.

Engineer Michael S. Kamau, who has been a permanent secretary since 2007 and a civil servant from 1981 was nominated for Cabinet Secretary Transport and Infrastructure.

Davis Chirchir, a former commissioner with the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), was nominated to head the Energy and Petroleum docket.

Others include Adan Abdalla Mohamed, the Barclays Kenya's chief executive who was nominated as Secretary for Industrialisation and Enterprise Development, Dr Hassan Wario (Sports, Culture and Arts), and Prof Jacob Kaimenyi (Education). Prof Kaimenyi is currently vice chairman at the University of Nairobi.

Six women nominees

Six women are included in the list of the 16 cabinet nominees so far announced, already meeting the one third constitutional requirement on gender representation.

Besides Charity Ngilu and Raychelle Omamo, the President Thursday named three other women into his Cabinet.

Phyllis Chepkosgei Kandie is the nominee proposed to head East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism ministry while Judy Wakhungu, an energy advisor to the World Bank was nominated for the Water and Natural Resources Cabinet secretary position.

Anne Waiguru, who has worked at the Treasury was the nominee for the Devolution and Planning docket.

On Tuesday, President Kenyatta nominated Ambassador Amina Mohammed to head the Foreign Affairs docket, as he named his first four members of his Cabinet who included Dr Fred Okengo Matiangi (ICT nominee), Henry K Rotich for Treasury Secretary, (see: profile) and James Wainaina Macharia (Health)

The two Cabinet positions in the Labour, Social Security and Services ministry and the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government are yet to be filled.

"We hope to fill them soon. We now want Parliament to start its role of vetting our list." President Kenyatta said.

President Kenyatta also proposed to retain Francis Kimemia as Secretary to the Cabinet order to ensure a smooth transition, while appointing Lawrence Lenayapa as State House Comptroller.

Full list

1. Fred Matiangi (Information, Communication and Technology (ICT),
2. Henry K. Rotich (The National Treasury),
3. James Wainaina Macharia (Health),
4. Amb Amina Mohamed (Foreign Affairs),
5. Adan Mohammed (Industrialization),
6. Ann Waiguru (Devolution and Planning),
7. Davis Chirchir (Energy and Petroleum),
8. Amb. Raychelle Omamo (Defence),
9. Eng. Michael Kamau (Transport and Infrastructure),
10. Phyllis Chepkosgey (East African affairs, Commerce and Tourism),
11. Prof Jacob Kaimenyi (Education),
12. Felix Kosgey (Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries),
13. Prof Judy Wakhungu (Environment Water and Natural Resources),
14. Dr Hassan Wario (Sports, Culture and Arts),
15. Najib Balala (Mining),
16. Charity Ngilu (Lands, Housing and Urban Development