Who's who in Ruto's cabinet


President William Ruto. FILE PHOTO | NMG

President William Ruto has named cabinet secretaries that includes technocrats, politicians and former MPs. 

Some of the persons named supported his presidential election bid and were instrumental in his win.

The list included former vice president Musalia Mudavadi who was named the prime cabinet secretary, former Machakos governor Dr Alfred Mutua and former Speaker of the National Assembly and DP leader Justin Muturi.

He said he has issued an executive order to assign his deputy Rigathi Gachagua clear responsibilities to assist him in discharging his mandate and the "heavy responsibility placed on his shoulders". 

President Ruto also named former vice president and ANC party leader Mr Musalia Mudavadi as the prime cabinet Secretary, saying it is the senior most office after the President and that of his deputy.

In the cabinet list, Dr Ruto named seven women, and four MPs who will have to resign from their current positions.

They include Garissa Town MP Adan Duale, Alice Wahome (Kandara), Kipchuma Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet Senator) and Sopian Tuya (nominated). 

The list includes: 

  1. Prof Kithure Kindiki- Interior
  2. Prof Njuguna Ndungu- Treasury
  3. Aden Duale- Defence
  4. Aisha Jumwa- Public Service, Gender and Affirmative Action 
  5. Alice Wahome - Water and Sanitation, 
  6. Dr Alfred Mutua- Foreign and Diaspora Affairs 
  7. Moses Kuria- Trade 
  8. Rebecca Miano- East African Community, Arid and Semi arida lands
  9. Kipchumba Murkomen- Roads, Transport and Public Works 
  10. Sopian Tuya- Environment and Forestry 
  11. Zachariah Mwangi Njeru- Lands
  12. Peninah Malonza- Tourism
  13. Mithika Linturi- Agriculture and Livestock 
  14. Susan Nakhumicha- Health 
  15. Eliud Owalo- ICT
  16. Ezekiel Machogu- Education 
  17. Davis Chirchir- Energy 
  18. Ababu Namwamba- Sports and Youth Affairs 
  19. Simon Chelugui- Co-operatives and SMEs
  20. Salim Mvurya- Mining 
  21. Florence Bore- Labour

President Ruto also named Ms Harriet Chigai as an advisor on women's rights, former CS Energy Monica Juma as an advisor on national security, former National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi as the Attorney General and Ms Mercy Wanjau as the secretary to the cabinet.

PAYE Tax Calculator

Note: The results are not exact but very close to the actual.