Mandatory licence rule for technicians proposed

Technicians will be compelled to obtain licences before they can practice. PHOTO | FILE
Technicians will be compelled to obtain licences before they can practice. PHOTO | FILE 

Engineering technologists and technicians will be compelled to obtain licences before they can practice if a new Bill becomes law.

The Engineering Technologists and Technicians Bill 2015, published by Bomet County Women Representative Cecilia Ngetich, outlines the requirements to be fulfilled when applying for a practising licence.

An Engineering Technologists and Technicians Registration Board will be established to, among other things, issue licences to qualified persons.

The board will have the power to enter and inspect sites where construction, installation, erection, alteration, renovation, maintenance, processing or manufacturing works are in progress to verify that engineering professional services and works are undertaken by registered persons under the Act.

The board will also ensure standards and professional ethics and relevant health and safety aspects are observed in line with Occupational Safety and Health Act, 2007.


“The function of the board shall be to assess, approve or reject engineering technology qualifications of foreign persons intending to offer engineering technology professional services or works in Kenya,” the Bill states in Clause 4.

Members of the board will have unfettered powers to enter and inspect business premises for verification purposes or for monitoring works, services and goods rendered by professional engineering technologists.

It will have power to recommend for the suspension of any engineering technology professional services, works, projects, installation process which are done without meeting the set standards.

The board will set standards and conduct professional examinations for the purpose of registration where applicable.

Cabinet secretary responsible for engineering matters, the principal secretary, chairperson of the institution of engineering technologists and technicians, the registrar and 12 persons appointed by the cabinet secretary will constitute membership of the board.