Delay over PSC nominees as PM 'not consulted'


The parliamentary Labour and Social Welfare committee member Pollyns Ochieng’ informed Parliament that the report on the nominees had not been concluded for tabling Thursday as directed by the Speaker. File

Nominees to the Public Service Commission (PSC) will have to wait for one more week to know their fate after a committee vetting their candidature said the Prime Minister Raila Odinga was not consulted.

The Labour and Social Welfare committee asked speaker Kenneth Marende to grant it more time to conclude its report.

Committee member Pollyns Ochieng informed Parliament that the report on the nominees had not been concluded for tabling Thursday as directed by the Speaker.

“There has been a new development after the Prime Minister said he was not consulted before the names were forwarded to Parliament. We seek two weeks,” he said but Marende allowed a week for the committee to finalise its report.

Last week, Mr Marende said President Kibaki and the Prime Minister had nominated Prof Magaret Kobia as the new chairperson for PSC.

Read: List of nominees to key agencies sent to MPs for approval)

He also directed the names of nominees to the Teachers Service Commission and the Secretary to the Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission to the Education Committee for consideration.

President Kibaki named Mr Kiragu Wa Magochi to head the TSC. Prof Kobia is the Kenya School of Government director-general.

Former ambassador and PS ambassador Peter O. Ole Nkuraiya was named as Prof Kobia’s deputy at PSC.

Mr Halake Dida Waqo who is currently a commissioner at the National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC) was nominated to serve as the Secretary to the EACC.

Former Clerk of the National Assembly Mr Patrick Gichohi, who officially retired on December 18, was nominated as a member of the PSC.

Other PSC members are Public Service Commission Permanent Secretary Mr Titus Ndambuki, Prof. Michael N. Lokuruka, Mr. Lawrence Nyalle, Veronica Chemutai Birgen, Catherine Raini Omweno and Dr. Judith Emboyi Bwonya.

Section 6 of the Public Service Commission Act, 2012 provides that the Public Service Commission shall consist of a chairperson, vice-chairperson and seven other members appointed in accordance with Article 233 (2) of the Constitution and the provisions of the Act.

The President, through the acting head of Public Service and Secretary to the Cabinet Mr Francis Kimemia asked Parliament to approve Mr Kahindi Ziro James, Fredrick Haga Ochieng and Adan Sheikh Abdullahi as members of TSC.

Justice and Constitutional Affairs Minister Eugene Wamalwa forwarded Mr Halake’s name for approval pursuant to Section 16 (1) of the EACC Act 2011.

[email protected]