Nanok set to be replaced as CoG chair

Council of Governors (CoG) chairman Josphat Nanok. FILE PHOTO | NMG
Council of Governors (CoG) chairman Josphat Nanok. FILE PHOTO | NMG 

The Council of Governors (CoG) is expected to elect new leadership during their first retreat since the August 8 election that is to be officially opened by President Uhuru Kenyatta this Thursday.

A programme for the Governors and their deputies' retreat at the Diani Reef Beach Hotel in Kwale County indicates that Deputy President William Ruto is set to unveil new leadership towards the end of the meeting later on Sunday.

The much awaited gathering, which will also lay out county bosses' plans for the next five years, has been rescheduled three times following differences between the national government and the devolved units on its hosting.

Jubilee has been planning to dislodge Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok, who took over as CoG chairman in April, and replacing him with Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya.

President Kenyatta told Jubilee governors during a meeting at State House after the August polls that Mr Mvurya, who was re-elected after defecting from ODM to the ruling party, was his favourite for the top seat.

Mr Nanok is serving his second term as governor and won on an ODM ticket but had indicated he would work with the government of the day after Nasa leader Raila Odinga failed to clinch the presidency.

Mr Nanok was elected as the third CoG boss after the term of former Meru Governor Peter Munya ended. Former Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto was the first CoG chair.

Mr Ruto and Mr Munya at times clashed with the Jubilee administration, accusing it of stifling devolution and denying the counties resources.

However, now that the party enjoys control of majority of the counties, it is seeking to replace Mr Nanok with a friendlier CoG boss.

Jubilee's pick of Mr Mvurya also comes at a time when it is trying to garner more support in the Coast region where it has been performing dismally despite scooping two governor posts out of six in this year's General Election.