Nasa, Jubilee MPs back Uhuru tax rise proposals


Leader of Majority in the National Assembly Aden Duale. FILE PHOTO | NMG

Jubilee and Nasa MPs Tuesday closed ranks and supported the imposition of eight per cent value added tax on petroleum products.

The MPs took the about turn at separate Parliamentary Group meetings chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta and NASA leader Raila Odinga.

This means that MPs opposing the introduction of VAT on petroleum products will not raise the two thirds (233 MPs) majority that is needed to overturn the President veto on the Finance Bill, 2018.

“The Jubilee MPs who attended the State House meeting have resolved to back the President,” Leader of Majority in the National Assembly Aden Duale said’

But the opposition MPs resolved to support Mr Kenyatta’s 8 per cent VAT proposal for only one year.

In the Headlines