Uhuru unveils his preferred House committee chairs

President Uhuru Kenyatta. FILE PHOTO | NMG
President Uhuru Kenyatta. FILE PHOTO | NMG 

President Uhuru Kenyatta Wednesday directed Jubilee MPs to elect his preferred line-up of chairpersons and deputies of various parliamentary committees.

Mr Kenyatta summoned Jubilee MPs to State House Wednesday morning and unveiled the list covering 28 departmental committees and membership to the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC), the MPs employer.

There are 32 committees in the National Assembly and the chair of three are reserved for the opposition and one to an Independent MP.

The chairs of Public Accounts Committee, Public Investments Committee and Committee on Implementation are reserved for Nasa while an independent will lead the Special Funds Accounts Committee.

The ruling Jubilee Party and Nasa coalition will fight for the leadership of the remaining 28 committees.

MPs who attended the State House meeting and who wished not to be named for fear of reprisals said Mr Kenyatta directed the legislators to stick to his preferred leadership list.

“MPs were very dissatisfied with the manner in which the President and his deputy William Ruto dictated the leadership of the committee. They read a prepared list of who will chair what and who will be their deputies. We have left the State House meeting very angry people,” an MP said.

Sources said Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter and his Sirisia counterpart John Waluke protested the line-up especially those nominated to serve in the prestigious PSC.

On Wednesday evening, Leader of Majority Aden Duale tabled the list of MPs appointed to serve in the PSC Mr Kenyatta’s cousin and nominated Senator Beth Mugo has made a comeback on the commission.

Nasa picked Homa Bay woman representative Gladys Wanga, Senator George Khaniri (Vihiga) and Aisha Jumwa (Malindi). Mr Kenyatta is said to have named Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa to chair the all-powerful Budget and Appropriations Committee and Kiambaa MP Paul Koinange to lead the Administration and National Security committee.

Pokot South MP David Pkosing will chair the Transport committee, William Cheptumo (Justice and Legal Affairs), Ali Wario (Labour and Social Welfare), Kanini Kega (Energy), Katoo ole Metito (Defence and Foreign Relations), Sabina Chege (Health), Rachael Nyamai (Land), Jeremiah Kioni (National Cohesion and Integration) and Julius Melly (Education).

Kipkelion East MP Joseph Limo will chair the Finance, Trade and Planning committee, Gladys Sholei (Committee on Delegated Legislation) and Kareke Mbiuki (Environment and Natural Resources).