Nasa disowns list of House Minority team

Suba MP John Mbadi. PHOTO | DIANA NGILA | NMG 

Nasa Secretariat has disowned the list of opposition leadership in the National Assembly with  MPs from the Coast region opposing the lineup circulated in Parliament on Monday.

The secretariat head Norman Magaya dismissed the alleged appointment of Suba MP John Mbadi as the coalition’s Leader of Minority in the National Assembly.

This came as 11 Nasa MPs from the Coast distanced themselves from remarks made by Mr Mbadi during the induction workshop for members of the National Assembly in which he made public the list of opposition leadership to the House.

Addressing the MPs in his capacity as Leader of Minority in the House, Mr Mbadi said Nasa had nominated him, Lugari MP Ayub Savula as his deputy while Robert Mbui (Kathiani) and Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini) were named as whip and deputy whip respectively.

“The leadership of Nasa has not yet agreed on the distribution of positions of the House leadership in both Houses (Senate and National Assembly) to members and affiliate political parties.

“The resolution of the last parliamentary group meeting of the coalition held last week at Okoa Kenya offices in Nairobi that a retreat will be organised to have members deliberate, agree and make resolution on the matter still stands,” Mr Magaya said.

He said the purported line up has not been sanctioned or approved by the leadership of Nasa and the Parliamentary Group.

Last week, Nasa said it will not forward the list of its leadership to the House including chairs of the yet- to- be constituted committees.

Mr Mbadi said the coalition had forwarded a letter to the speaker nominating him and his other colleagues.

Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori said lawmakers from Coast will not accept the list because it had sidelined the region.