Tata, KCAA, NHIF bag top awards


Kenya Institute of Management (KIM) Executive Director Dr Muriithi Ndegwa with Telkom Kenya CEO Mugo Kibati and KIM Governing Council chair Dr Lydia Muriuki awarding the Winner of the 2022 COYA Awards, Tata Chemicals Magadi led by Steve Okiri, Head of Business Excellence at the Weston Hotel on the night of December 2, 2022. PHOTO | DIANA NGILA | POOL

Three firms dominated the ranking of the annual Kenya Institute of Management (KIM) company of the year awards whose list of winners was unveiled during a gala dinner on Friday.

Tata Chemicals Magadi bagged the overall winners’ accolade after emerging top in three of the seven determinant categories.

Among the over 20 participants who took part in the contest, the firm was top in the leadership and management, corporate citizenship and environment and productivity and quality categories.

ALSO READ: Kenya wins big at Oscars of tourism

The Kenya Civil Aviation Authority (KCAA) emerged as the first runners-up after securing wins in the two categories of human resource focus and financial management while the National Hospital Insurance Fund (NHIF) was named second runners-up.

NHIF was recognised in the areas of innovation, ICT and knowledge management as well as in customer orientation and marketing.

During the awards event, Gertrude's Children’s Hospital chief executive Dr Robert Nyarango was named the overall CEO of the year when weighed against the parameters of integrity, excellent performance and innovation.

“We want to extend hearty congratulations to all the winners of the various awards and may the excellence that brought you to these awards continue to steer you to even higher levels,” KIM Executive Director and CEO Dr Muriithi Ndegwa told the winners during the gala dinner.

Last year, Tata Chemicals made its debut at the top of the list buoyed by its impactful corporate social responsibility (CSR) efforts.

READ: Call for top Kenyan schools to enter Sh30.5m global contest as 2023 applications open

Other companies that have bagged the win in previous years include the Nation Media Group, Safaricom PLC, Mabati Rolling Mills and Jubilee Insurance Limited.

The awards were incepted in 2000 to recognise firms that have gone ahead of their peers to stamp indelible marks in their industries of operation.

[email protected]